Tasars enjoyed a wild and windy week of racing at their 47th Australian Championships held in Port Lincoln, SA over the New Year.

Taking victory were 2015’s World Champions and former VIC Sailors of the Year, Chris Dance and Peter Hackett from Mordialloc SC, VIC. They led by 3pts from early leaders and current NSW State Tasar, NS14 and MG14 Champion Hugh Tait from Northbridge SC Sydney, sailing with wife Anna. In 3rd place and 6pts behind the leaders was multi Contender World Champion Mark Bulka from McCrae YC VIC, sailing with his 12yo son Oliver. 

Despite COVID testing and border requirements impacting on fleet numbers, the Regatta spirit was high as was the standard of competition. Top class crews included Tasar multi National Helm/ former Fireballs National and World’s Champions Heather Macfarlane and Chris Payne (4th), current Sail Sydney DIV Champions Ralph and Imogen Stanford (5th) who shared equal points with 1986 Tasar World Champion and NAVY’s Rick Longbottom and Darryl Bentley.  

The Tasar Class’s next major Event is WORLDS Seattle USA, 17-25 Sept 2022. 

Full Results of Nationals Port Lincoln SA can be found here Tasar Nationals 21/22 Results