The Marina Industries Association (MIA) has recognised a lifetime of service to the marina industry with awards presented to Jeff d’Albora and to Ian McAndrew (posthumously).The Marina Industries Association (MIA) has recognised a lifetime of service to the marina industry with awards presented to Jeff d’Albora and to Ian McAndrew (posthumously). Trish McAndrew and Jeff d’Albora accepted the awards at a special luncheon in Sydney hosted by MIA President Andrew Chapman. Collectively Jeff d’Albora and Ian McAndrew provided 70 years’ service to the marina and wider marine industries in Australia and both have made a significant contribution to industry development on the international stage.

In 2019 the MIA established the MIA Lifetime Achievement Award to recognise individuals who have been major contributors to the marina industry over an extended period of time and for a majority of their professional life. It is awarded to those who have left a positive and indelible mark on the industry. It is likely that they will have contributed both professionally and voluntarily which has resulted in industry recognition, professionalism and growth.  The award is the highest accolade given by the industry and it includes the granting of MIA Life Membership. 

As the first recipients of the MIA Award Andrew Chapman said “the bar for this award is now set at a very high level. In 2015 Jeff and Ian stepped down from decades of voluntary MIA service in various leadership roles. The commitment, dedication and industry leadership provided by Jeff d’Albora and Ian McAndrew had been exceptional. Jeff and Ian were instrumental in laying the foundations of the MIA with both following through to ensure the organisation was strong and heading in the right direction with a clear focus on developing the professionalism of the industry through education, accreditation and research.”    

“It is extremely sad that with Ian’s passing in June this year I did not get to present the Award to Ian in person. We take comfort however in knowing that for Trish; family, friends and former colleagues from across the globe that up until the day of Ian’s passing he was the same passionate, friendly and caring person that we all knew and admired.”                

Andrew Chapman commented that the provision of these two awards was also in recognition of the entrepreneurial spirit and business achievements of Jeff and Ian which also benefited the marina industry.

“In the 1970’s Jeff entered the industry with an engineering and hospitality background. He was an innovative and very successful cruise vessel operator on Sydney Harbour. Jeff also identified the opportunity to turn old boat yards into modern marinas. He established the d’Albora group of marinas and to this day his expertise in marina development is keenly sought after.”

Jeff d’Albora thanked Andrew Chapman and the MIA Board for making this award. He said “I am extremely honoured to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. The marina industry has and remains a passion of mine and I am pleased to have played a part in assisting the industry to grow and mature.” 

Commenting on Ian McAndrew, Andrew Chapman said “he was dogged in his pursuit of creating a first-class marina in Port Stephens NSW during the 1980’s.  As the regional face of Walcon Marine for two decades he was most successful in growing the business. He was respected by his competitors as a tough but fair competitor. Ian also had a successful marina consultancy business, and he attracted many private and public sector clients.”

Trish McAndrew, in receiving the Award said it was an honour and pleasure to accept on behalf of Ian. “He has left so many fond memories with so many people. He was passionate about the marina industry. He loved to help others and to share his knowledge and beliefs about where the industry needed to go into the future.”     

MIA CEO Suzanne Davies reiterated, “the MIA Lifetime Achievement Award was established by the MIA to recognise those, that over a lifetime, have contributed to the marina industry in both professional and voluntary capacities, resulting in industry recognition, professionalism and growth. The marina industry is very fortunate to have as the first two recipients of this Award, two outstanding contributors that have left their indelible mark on the global marina industry.”